You are here

2019 IRC Chair Election Results

2019 IRC Chair Election Results

Inuvik, NT (January 29, 2019)-  Duane Smith has been re-elected Chair and Chief Executive Officer of Inuvialuit Regional Corporation.  The 42 Directors of the Community Corporations of Aklavik, Inuvik, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok were entitled to vote.


The candidates received the following votes:


  • Wayne Gordon (2)
  • Merven Gruben (2)
  • Richard McLeod (0)
  • Randal Pokiak (0)
  • Kenneth Ruben (11)
  • Duane Smith (25)
  • Kurt Wainman (2)


Chair Elect Duane Smith gave remarks to the 42 Directors before continuing with the 42 Directors Meeting which is ongoing at the Midnight Sun Complex in Inuvik.  Agenda items include strategic planning, as well as information and updates about IRC policies, business plans, and departments. The 42 Directors Meeting goes through January 30.


The Chair and CEO of IRC is elected for a three year term and has the responsibility of administering the benefits received by the Inuvialuit under the IFA. This is Duane Smith’s second term in the position of Chair and CEO.  He was first elected in 2016.





For more information, please contact:



Elizabeth Kolb

Communications Advisor