You are here

IRC is optimistic with Territorial Elections results


Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC) offers congratulations to all elected and incumbent MLAs, especially in ridings of Nunakput, Mackenzie Delta, Inuvik Twin Lakes, and Inuvik Boot Lake and extends its gratitude to former MLAs.

“We can expect a strong upcoming session in the Legislative Assembly and are ready to work with MLA Jackie Jacobson, Lesa Semmler, Diane Thom and Frederick (Sonny) Blake in their respective roles as elected representatives. Quyannaini, koana, quyanaqpak to departing Members of the Legislative Assembly for their efforts in our Region,” reflects IRC Chair and CEO Duane Ningaqsiq Smith after hearing the results of the territorial election, “Inuvialuit look forward to partnering with the 19th Legislative Assembly for a progressive North and the respectful, meaningful implementation of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.”

Before informing IRC of their intention to seek public office, Lesa Semmler was IRC’s Health Systems Navigator and Diane Thom was the Self-Government Negotiator.

IRC would like to acknowledge all who ran for office, those who participated in the electoral process by attending the forums, voicing their concerns and voting and would like to recognize outgoing MLAs Herb Angik Nakimayak, Robert C. McLeod, and Alfred Moses for their leadership.




For media inquires, please contact:


Elizabeth Kolb

Communications Advisor

Tel: (867) 777-7055