You are here

Notice of Candidates- 2019 IRC Chair Election.

Notice of Candidates for 2019 IRC Chair Election




2019 Election of the IRC Chair and CEO


INUVIK, NT (January 17, 2019) – The Nomination Period for the election of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC) Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) closed at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 17, 2019.


The following individuals have submitted Nomination Forms in accordance with the Election Rules and satisfy the requirements for candidacy:


  • Wayne Gordon
  • Merven Gruben
  • Richard McLeod
  • Randal Pokiak
  • Kenneth Ruben
  • Duane Smith
  • Kurt Wainman


The All Candidate Forum will take place on Monday, January 28th, 2019.


The 2019 IRC Chair Election will take place at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, January 29th in Inuvik, Northwest Territories, at the Midnight Sun Complex. The 42 Directors of the Community Corporations of Aklavik, Inuvik, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok are entitled to vote.


The IRC Chairperson and CEO is elected for a three-year term.




For more information please contact:


Jessica Stewart

Deputy Returning Officer Tel: 867.777.7066

Kate Darling

Returning Officer Tel: 867.777.7077